Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

A Festive 80th Anniversary Year

October 14, 2023 @ 7:30 pm

Mei-Ann Chen, Conductor
Amaryn Olmeda, Violin

Dmitri Shostakovich   Festive Overture
Max Bruch   Violin Concerto No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninoff   Symphony No. 2

What better way to open the Springfield Symphony Orchestra’s 80th season, and the honor of doing so, than with a program full of invigorating, energetic works? We begin with a celebratory gem—Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Festive Overture,” an aural, upbeat revelry in sound with its exhilarating, flowing melodic lines. Following is Max Bruch’s beloved, popular “Violin Concerto,” a passionate masterpiece full of rich melodies, lush orchestral moments and violin virtuosity at its best. As the evening draws to a close, we send you home with the sounds of luxurious orchestral textures, full of emotion and magnificent energy, in Rachmaninoff’s “Symphony No. 2.” One of my favorites, this work reminds us not only of the magic of large-scale orchestral works, but of how each instrument connects lovingly with each other. Music is a part of every community and this concert not only shares the beauty and wonder of music but highlights the incredible talent that is Springfield Symphony Orchestra.

Buy TicketsDownload the Program Book

Musical Notes

Mei-Ann Chen and Amaryn Olmeda appear by arrangement with Opus 3 Artists, LLC


October 14, 2023
7:30 pm
Event Categories:


Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
Springfield, MA 01103 United States
+ Google Map