Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

An American Celebration

Saturday, April 6 @ 7:30 pm

Peter Boyer, Conductor
Jeffrey Biegel, Piano

Aaron Copland   Fanfare for the Common Man
Jennifer Higdon   Fanfare Ritmico
Aaron Copland   Appalachian Spring
Peter Boyer   Rhapsody in Red, White & Blue
George Gershwin   Rhapsody in Blue

This concert includes two of the most iconic pieces of American music: Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite, and George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Pianist Jeffrey Biegel, a longtime champion of Gershwin’s Rhapsody, commissioned acclaimed American composer Peter Boyer to compose a new work in celebration of that work’s centennial in February 2024. Boyer’s brand new Rhapsody in Red, White & Blue is being performed by orchestras around the United States, and the composer will conduct his own work for this SSO concert. Completing the program are Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man, and the bravura Fanfare Ritmico by Jennifer Higdon.

Buy TicketsDownload the Program Book

Jeffrey Biegel appears by arrangement with Naturally Sharp, Inc

Classical Conversations

Before the performance, all ticketed patrons are invited to participate in a Classical Conversation, starting at 6:30 p.m. on the Symphony Hall stage. During this insightful session, Conductor Peter Boyer and Pianist Jeffrey Biegel will explore the evening program’s themes. Gain unique insights into the inspiration behind each piece and discover how the artists bring these musical ideas to life on stage.

Music Notes


Saturday, April 6
7:30 pm
Event Categories:


Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
Springfield, MA 01103 United States
+ Google Map